Merry Christmas From California!

Merry Christmas, friends! I do deeply apologise for the recent lack of posts. I shall definitely try to do better at that.

This past quarter has been… a lot. I took Song of Solomon and Old Testament Survey, and although it was a lot of work, I fell more deeply in love with the Song than I ever have before. Check out my teaching notes HERE for the fruit of my study and meditation on that. I know I used to blog about these verses… but I really was only touching the tip of the iceberg. I’m still only touching the tip of the iceberg. Isn’t it amazing to think that never for all of eternity will we be able to fully plumb the depths of these verses?

The semester ended officially on December 13, and I spent that weekend in Tulsa celebrating the wedding of two very dear friends with whom you may remember I stayed on my drive out to KC in August. It was an absolutely perfect wedding, full of so much joy and friendship and geekery, and of course, twoo wuv… I feel deeply honoured to have been a part of it.

I flew home on December 17, and my time here with family has been absolutely delightful. I could not have asked for a more loving, funny, ridiculous, beautiful family. (The weather here was indeed in the high 70s most of the time… Kansas City, I’m sorry. I’m so, so sorry.)

I also had the opportunity to visit all three of the churches I call home in SoCal– the megachurch I grew up in and the two smaller churches that have become family the past few years. The two smaller churches both invited me to share about my time at IHOPU, so I had the opportunity to  spend a few minutes after worship talking about the vision for the incense of prayer and worship arising before God from around the world. I loved it. (They gave me a mic and told me to talk about Jesus and prayer. HA.) They all prayed for me afterwards, and it was such a huge blessing. The support of these precious people means so much to me.

Christmas today was much the same as it has been nearly every Christmas I can remember. Church the night before, then stockings and family gifts in the morning, then breakfast with Dad’s family up the street, then devotions, gifts, lunch, games, and movies with Mom’s family at our house. I love family traditions.

Another tradition I followed this year was rereading my Diary of a Pregnant Virgin story. I wrote it during my final year of college and published it in installments on my blog during Advent. Writing it pushed me deep into the heart of Christmas, and every time I read it I relive those explorations. Mary’s journey of being swept up into a high and miraculous calling, yet still having to learn to trust God along the way, echoes my own life’s journey. Maybe it echoes yours, too. He is faithful to finish what He started. I find myself needing to to trust in that every day. He takes His own time, but His leadership is perfect. In Him is everything I need, and He will never, ever leave me dry.

Merry Christmas, my friends. May Immanuel, God With Us, surround your heart with His love and peace today and every day.

Leave a Reply

